Gyandro Marselia

Hellur y’all!

I should probably start by introducing myself, right? My name is Gyandro Marselia, also known as Gyo, since people tend to have a difficult time pronouncing my full name here in the U.S. I’m an international student from the beautiful Caribbean Island Curaçao. In case you don’t know where that is- you’ve probably heard about Aruba, well that’s our sister island, which including Bonaire would be known as “the ABC-islands”.

I’m currently majoring in Individualized Studies, combining Sociology and Theater Arts. This is honestly a great combination though the fields are not intertwined like they should be in their respective majors, which is why I’m creating my own! Besides, contrary to popular opinion, isn’t that what we’re all supposed to do anyways to fulfill our sense of individuality…As sociology helps you to understand people and society on a deeper level, which comes in handy in character development for acting, theater is merely a reflection of just that.

Besides being an “island boy” in Batavia New York, I’m also a Resident Assistant in the student halls, and a Student Ambassador for the Admissions office, which is exactly why I’m writing this blog. Ironically, contrary to the majority of male athletes living in my building, I’m more into the humanities. Just imagine being a student leader of a bunch of baseball and basketball players living in one building…exactly! I’m quite passionate about the arts, history and culture, which explains my engagement in multiple events on campus that I’ll eventually tell you about. Besides, I’m an Aries, so passion is written all- over- me. Whatever that means…

Oh by the way, I forgot to mention that I’m graduating this semester. Yup, it all happened so fast. As much as I dislike the education system, I’m planning on transferring to another institution after this. Yes, I do dislike it, to say the least! But hey, still passing my classes with honors though. Besides, it’s through the hardships in life that we learn the most. As I look back at my time spent at GCC, satisfaction is an understatement. In the cold of the winter, the faculty and staff will always make you feel rather comfortable with the warmth of their heart.

Talking about warmth, past weekend was the carnival weekend in Curaçao. I don’t want to be nostalgic nor homesick, so to that I say- we had a winter themed second chance prom over here! Surely it was not as colorful and vibrant as the annual Caribbean celebration under the sun. But the company of friends and the energy of the GCC community, will certainly make you feel the love and the warmth of home.

Gyandro Marselia

About gccblogs

GCC's main campus is in Batavia, NY. With Campus Centers in Arcade, Dansville, Lima, Medina & Warsaw, including 100s of Online courses, GCC offers more than 75 degree & certificate programs.

Leave a comment