Nevermore…

So it’s spring here in Australia, finally. I arrived during the late part of their winter, and as winter weather slowly gives way to the warmth of spring, I am realizing why they call Brisbane the “garden city.” There are literally hundreds of different types of flowers that one might encounter in a simple walk down the sidewalk. In the backyard, there’s a tangerine tree hanging over the fence, with bright orange and very delicious tangerines dangling from its branches. Every day on my walk to the train station, I pass hedges and trees simply filled with bright, alien fruits and scented, florescent flowers.

Besides the flowers, there are also the mating calls and behaviors of the birds here, which brings me to the topic of my blog today. Sitting in the park today, enjoying an iced mocha and a piece of macadamia nut and white chocolate cake (be envious…), I noticed an Australian Raven flutter down onto the park lawn a couple metres from where I was sitting.

An Australian Raven

I want all of you to get this picture quite clear in your mind. Me, sitting still, minding my own business with my cake and my mocha, and this raven fluttering about on the lawn. As I watched this fellow, I noticed he had a piece of red plastic or something in his beak. He set it on the ground, fussed over it for a moment, and then started picking up leaves and things and placing them on the plastic, arranging them with precision. He then started hopping about, making mating calls. I laughed a bit and watched him. He cocks his head at me, and then runs over and picks up a discarded ice-cream container with some colored stripes on it and proceeds to drag it closer to me. He then repeats his mating calls.

It was about at this point that I looked down at myself and realized that I was wearing a black shirt. The lovestruck fool thought I was a female raven!!! I’ve teetered between being flattered and being mortified for a while, but after doing a bit of research, I found that the ravens are monogamous, forming lifelong pairs. So I decided to be flattered; apparently he thought I was good enough for the long-term!

In other news, I am now working in hematology, analyzing blood samples. The neat thing about the hematology department is that it is almost entirely automated. Samples come in, get aliquotted, get cell counts, get slides made and stained, and then get stored or sent for special testing all on machines. It’s really quite fascinating to watch, and it makes the hematologists’ jobs a lot easier.

Well, that’s all from me for now. Don’t forget to comment, and hope to hear from you all soon!

About gccblogs

At seven campus centers and online, Genesee Community College offers more than 60 degree and certificate programs in a high-tech, personalized setting.

One response to “Nevermore…”

  1. Gena says :

    That poor raven!

    I hope you atleast gave him a piece of nut from your cake as a thank you for his interest!

    Even a simple bird-brain knew quality when he saw it!

    ^w^

Leave a Reply

