News and New Zealand

The finest rockets ever seen,

they burst in stars of blue and green,

or after thunder, golden showers,

come falling like a rain of flowers.

~J.R.R. Tolkien~
In case you’re wondering what inspired my bit of poetry here, I went to Riverfire last night. It’s a fireworks event that draws literally a million people to the Brisbane riverfront for the show. There’s live music, food, and of course, absolutely spectacular fireworks. They also had an F-11 that flew over while dumping its fuel load, which made it look like a phoenix; this great flying thing with a long tail of fire that lit up the whole sky.

This week was rather hectic; I switched over to histology from microbiology in Sullivan and Nicolaides. While I love microorganisms and enjoyed reading agar plates, it was a nice change of pace to see some actual macroscopic specimens. I have learned so much about histo and micro since I have been there, I am now almost considering a career in pathology… Time will tell! I still have several more departments to rotate through; in particular, I am looking forward to cellular and molecular pathology.

I also booked my flights to New Zealand! In case you didn’t know, I’m spending my last week here terrorizing the South Island of New Zealand. In particular, Christchurch, Wanaka, and Milford Sound. I get to hike around New Zealand for seven days, as well as take a day cruise around Milford Sound. It should be fun, and I’m really looking forward to it.

I will post again soon with some more photos and stories of madness and mayhem down under. Until then, no worries, and I look forward to seeing everyone when I get back in October!

About gccblogs

At seven campus centers and online, Genesee Community College offers more than 60 degree and certificate programs in a high-tech, personalized setting.

One response to “News and New Zealand”

  1. Jamie Ander says :

    Well, that’s interesting! I can’t wait to see what else you have to do in New Zealand! I can’t wait to hear more, Leah.

Leave a Reply

