Better Late Than Never!

Hi Everyone!

First, off, a heart-felt apology for the lateness of this post. I went camping over this weekend to Mt. Barney and didn’t even have cell phone reception, much less internet. So the tardiness of this post is not *entirely* my fault. Only mostly.

Camping this weekend at Mt. Barney was really quite an experience, to be sure. Mt. Barney is southeast of Brisbane, and it’s really quite far out into the country, as evidenced by this sign we passed on our way there-

Last Fuel in Queensland!

The country is mostly dry, barren hills populated by scraggly, sad trees and greenish-grey cacti, with the occasional mountain cropping up here and there. The really interesting thing, though, was the diversity of wildlife, like this snake in the lady’s bathroom-

Nice Snakey....

That snake was about three feet long. Needless to say, I zipped both flaps on my tent that night. Of course, that didn’t keep out the noise of the kookaburras at about 5:30 AM. There is nothing creepier than being woken up by what sounds like a horde of madmen in fits of maniacal laughter. After the initial panic, however, it was rather exotic and fascinating to listen to.

One thing I’ve always taken for granted is the stars. They shift around somewhat in the sky, but they’re always there, always a constant. As I sat by the campfire, watching night unfold over the hills and mountains, totally alien constellations filled the night sky above me. One truly knows exactly how far away one is from home when they realize that even the stars aren’t the same.

It was a very eye-opening experience; until this weekend, I’d only experienced the lush coastlands of Australia, and none of the real outback bush. I had my first taste of the wild, untamed Australia. Even though it’s a harsh country, it can be heart-wrenchingly beautiful. After seeing these vistas, I realized how people could truly fall in love with the wild terrain of Australia. (Click on the images to see them in their full glory: trust me, it’s worth it).

The Mountain at Sunset

The Country

This is Leah, signing off. I’ll have the next post up in a few days, so keep watching!

About gccblogs

At seven campus centers and online, Genesee Community College offers more than 60 degree and certificate programs in a high-tech, personalized setting.

One response to “Better Late Than Never!”

  1. Dr RAM says :

    Please, beam be up Leah. I want to be there. I’m glad you are having a good time.

Leave a Reply

