Day Three

Today is the third day I’ve been in Australia. It’s been a wonderful time so far!

Yesterday I went to the L0ne Pine Koala Sanctuary. What an awesome place! They have koalas, kangaroos, a platypus, echnidnas, tasmanian devils, kookaburras, emus, dingoes, crocodiles, and many other things. The really nifty thing is that you can go into the kangaroo reserve and walk right up to the kangaroos, touch them if you want. For a biologist, it was really a very fascinating experience. Australia is really an ecological phenomenon- it broke off from Pangaea and has evolved totally independent of the rest of the world since millions and millions of years ago. Some of the most important “lost links” of evolution can be found on this continent.  For example, the duck-billed platypus has been around since the time of the dinosaurs. It also hunts through the use of specialized nerves in its bill that actually pick up the electrical signals from the muscles of its prey!

Today, I went to Southbank and talked to the Director, Caroline. She was very nice, and showed me all around the school and labs. We worked out my schedule, which looks like it should be really awesome. Who doesn’t like analyzing tissue and blood samples for diseases and disorders four days a week? Sounds like my version of heaven!

Currently, my internet is not allowing for uploading, but stay tuned for photos of koalas and more!

About gccblogs

At seven campus centers and online, Genesee Community College offers more than 60 degree and certificate programs in a high-tech, personalized setting.

4 responses to “Day Three”

  1. Dr RAM says :

    Leah, I’m glad you made in one piece and that you are having a good time. Take care.

    Dr RAM

  2. Michelle says :

    Heck yeah, echidna! Was there a red one with white gloves there? You may have met a celebrity and never knew it! (Knuckles from Sonic the Hedgehog)
    So, hey, have you found any Tasmanian Wolves yet, or are they JUST in Tasmania?
    Oh, and did you even ask to ride an Emu!?

  3. Leah says :

    I didn’t meet Knuckles, but I got to pet a koala and kangaroo! I was pretty excited about that.
    Tasmanian devils I saw, but I think tasmanian wolves are only in tasmania.
    I did see a dingo, though!
    No, I did not ask to ride the emu. I think the emu would have bitten my nose off if I’d tried…

  4. Kay says :

    So here’s a question: If Australia’s ecology has evolved completely independently from the rest of the world for millions upon millions of years, how, therefore, can it have any ‘lost links’ at all? Doesn’t independence mean that there is no link?

Leave a Reply

