T Minus Three Days!

… And so the countdown begins! Before I depart halfway across the world, I thought I’d give myself  a break from packing and give all of you a bit of background information on Brisbane and Australia in general. Nothing fancy, just some trivia I thought was interesting.

  • The tropical north of Australia is home to the world’s largest crocodiles. Full-grown males can grow to a length of 6 meters, or 20 feet.
  • But that’s ok- only one or two people per year get eaten by crocodiles.
  • There are 20 million people in Australia, and 150 million sheep.
  • Big surprise- Australia is the largest exporter of sheep wool.
  • Population density in Australia is calculated in km^2 per person, rather than people per km^2.
  • In 1824, a governor sent a difficult group of  convicts to found a colony in Queensland.
  • Children now send their difficult parents and grandparents to this colony, Brisbane, to retire.

I leave the Rochester airport at 2:40 PM Friday… wish me luck, everyone! I won’t be posting for a day or two after I land, due to jetlag and getting settled in in Brisbane. Expect to see pictures and a new blog shortly thereafter, however! 🙂

About gccblogs

At seven campus centers and online, Genesee Community College offers more than 60 degree and certificate programs in a high-tech, personalized setting.

5 responses to “T Minus Three Days!”

  1. Michelle says :

    Woo~ Good luck, Leah! I hope you pick up a rocking accent and one of those giant earthworms there. ^_^

  2. Sam says :

    Good luck Leah! I’m sure you’ll do fine. My sis spent some time in Australia in college and LOVED it! 🙂 Enjoy your trip.. can’t wait to read about your adventures.

    P.S. Love the platypus in the picture.

  3. Becky Reynolds says :

    Good luck. Take care. And, play nicely with others 🙂

  4. Mindy says :

    I hope you have the time of your life

  5. Jim says :

    Good on you Leah, you’ll have a great time I am sure.

    Beware of the budgie smugglers!

Leave a Reply

